What I’m Reading

4 May

That “read a book a month” New Years Resolution has really dug up that voracious reader in me. When I was younger, I used to go through piles of books and was a regular at the library. Even though I don’t have that same time now to read all that I want, committing myself to read even a little bit each day has renewed that desire to read more and more and more.

That being said, here’s what I’ve been reading:

WP_000755

  • Gone Girl: I finally got myself a library card and went through the Amazon bestseller lists to find books they had on the shelf… enter: Gone Girl! Not what I expected, at all, but it’s a thriller/suspense with a bit of twist narratively and I finished it in two days. That speaks for itself, right? (Amazon)
  • Good to Great: Mentioned this in the last entry, but still chugging through this one. Ironically, the book came up in a big meeting at work and I got quizzed on what I remembered… so in one sense, reading it has been paying off. Almost finished. (Amazon)
  • The Omnivore’s Dilemma: After The End of Overeating, this book was the next on my official “To Read” list (for May). It’s a little slower and leisurely, but savoring it. Finished the first section (Corn) and in the second (Grass) — taking my time on this one, but enjoying it. (Amazon)
  • The Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper: Felt like reading another cookbook so picked this off our bookshelf. It’s written by the two forces behind NPR’s  The Splendid Table and has a lot of cool tips & anecdotes, though I have yet to make something from it. (Amazon)

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

