For Someone Who Doesn’t Own a TV…

14 Mar

…I watch kind of a lot of TV. Thanks to Hulu and the dear ol’ Internet, I end up watching quite a bit of TV in my down time, on weekends, when I need to stop using my brain, while I’m prepping/cooking, etc. Here’s the honest-to-goodness list of what I’m watching these days. I’m almost ashamed of this list… actually, I am ashamed. Oh well.

Shows I Love (please don’t judge me…):

  • Grey’s Anatomy (I’ve watched this on and off since high school and almost every episode still makes me cry)
  • The Lying Game (It’s not a good show, but I’m emotionally invested. I’ve always had a thing for twin stories… Sweet Valley High, what?)
  • Modern Family (one of the few shows B & I both like — late to the party, but we love it)
  • Nashville (I love Connie Britton. #TexasForever oh wait, #TennesseeForever? Doesn’t have the same ring to it)
  • New Girl (sometimes crass, but makes me laugh out loud with the ridiculous (and by ridiculous I mean awesome) writing)
  • Once Upon a Time (the most creative show I’ve ever seen–and family friendly!)
  • Revenge (so dramatic and so good)
  • Sherlock (BBC version – so witty, so fast, so smart — catching up in Season 2 at a leisurely pace since Season 3’s not coming for a while)

Shows I Watch (but often get left at the bottom of my queue):

  • The Carrie Diaries (I got suckered in by all the promotions—foreal. And I strangely love all the 80’s clothes!)
  • Glee (love love loved in the first few seasons but nowadays I feel like it’s losing its way…)
  • The Mindy Project (30 minutes is sometimes the perfect length of time for a distraction, but I’m actually surprised it didn’t get cancelled)
  • Pretty Little Liars (joined PLL late and had to figure out what was going on… it’s sometimes too creepy for me and I’m less invested)
  • Shark Tank (one of the other few shows B & I both like — we both have a little bit of that business mindset)

Shows I Don’t Watch (for a variety of reasons):

  • Mad Men (bought seasons 1-4 on DVD and we were mesmerized by the first few… then I realized I couldn’t handle the … cable-ness of it all)
  • Game of Thrones (I don’t… but I really want to! I wish there was a PG version)
  • Parenthood (maybe because I didn’t start at the beginning–I’m willing to start from the beginning one day!)
  • Community (it’s just too smart for me, or something)
  • The Office (we watched until Michael left… the end of an era)
  • Breaking Bad (B really wants me to watch, but it’s just too intense)
  • Walking Dead (B loved it at first so I watched sometimes (with my eyes half closed) but got over it, fast)
  • Switched at Birth (watched for a while, then realized how bad it was)
  • 90210 (ditto)
  • Vampire Diaries (a friend who shall remain unnamed loves this show so I followed along for a bit… then moved on)
  • Smash (it just doesn’t interest me… which is strange, because it’s like grown up Glee)
  • Downtown Abbey (I know–sacrilege! I’m sure I could get into it… but I’ll just avoid)
  • Suits (watched part of an episode and it was SO poorly acted that I couldn’t stand it. Might have caught it on an off day, but idk)
  • American Idol/The Voice/SYTYCD/Top Chef/etc — I’ve watched all of these for at least a season at some point… but reality TV just got too exhausting

And… now I’m going to go hide. And watch TV.

2 Responses to “For Someone Who Doesn’t Own a TV…”

  1. Janet March 18, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    hi bethany! 🙂 glad i found your blog… hehehe.. i wanted to comment on the shows you watch (that i watch too!)

    Grey’s Anatomy (I’ve watched this on and off since high school and almost every episode still makes me cry) – I used to judge people who watched this show.. but then started watching it in grad school and loved it… it’s so good!

    Nashville (I love Connie Britton. #TexasForever oh wait, #TennesseeForever? Doesn’t have the same ring to it) – I like it too! I like hayden panettiere and their songs! but rayna and teddy are seriously screwed up. well.. I guess everyone is, but did you know rayna’s daughters in the show are youtube stars and real sisters in real life?

    Once Upon a Time (the most creative show I’ve ever seen–and family friendly!) – I started watching this show.. hated it, then got into it again. It’s gotten a lot better, but Henry is SUCH a bad actor and whenever he talks it annoys me so much. Emma also annoys me.

    Revenge (so dramatic and so good) – HAHA love this show too!!! It’s getting so good! The acting is a little cheesy sometimes, but they keep the storyline interesting.

    Ok.. I’m done. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Musings on Music | B for Bethany - March 30, 2013

    […] Okay, I know what I said… but I was so curious about the dynamic of the new judges on the Voice and ended up really […]

Leave a Reply

